Just Another Off Topic Post… or Am I Nocturnal

20 07 2010

This is a repost from one of my other blogs. The original post can be found here, but it’s exactly the same here… so there’s not really a point.

Are there truly nocturnal people? I don’t know… I seem to be one, but I could be among a very small number of people. I function terribly on a daytime schedule; and, to keep one, I have to rely heavily on caffeine. This has led to an addiction to caffeine–I’m trying to quit, but it’s not easy.

On a day schedule, I start out okay, but after a month or two I feel terrible and have to take naps in the middle of the day, and I start feeling depressed. It’s also really hard to concentrate. I hate the sunlight, too. I wear sunglasses during the day, because the sunlight hurts my eyes. Well… hate is a strong word, but I don’t like it. It burns us! It burns us!

On a night schedule I go to bed at around 5am and wake up at about 1pm, if left to my own devices. My mother feels I should be up by noon, and that that is sleeping in late. I disagree with her, because I’m getting 8 or so hours of sleep. On a night schedule, I feel infinitely better, I don’t need any naps, and I’m more productive. If I truly am nocturnal, I don’t think I could hold down a ‘real’ job… unless it was night shift. I write most of my blog posts after midnight. Even if I feel tired in the wee hours of the morning, it’s hard to get to sleep until at least 4.

I guess the only real problem I have is that I feel alone at night. I don’t have any nocturnal friends. I have one friend who lives in Australia, so he’s awake many of the hours that I am, but we only keep in touch via twitter. I wish I knew more people like me. I don’t fit in a daytime world. I thrive at night. I don’t claim to be a vampire or anything, but I don’t know how much longer I can live in a house where the inhabitants expect me to try to keep a daytime schedule.

On a side note, I love to travel. But every time I envision myself travelling, by walking or car or whatever it’s at night. I am more creative at night. I can draw better at night. I love the feel and smell and sounds of the night. I envision my perfect day, and it involves sleeping until 2pm and going to bed at 6am when the sun just starts to rise, and everyone around me is just starting to wake.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

